Bugaboo

IMG_0985

Dear Daughter,

You are now over a year old, and I’ve never talked about our Bugaboo.

When you were on your way, I went back and forth, backandforth, on what to do about a double stroller, or what not to do about one. Do we need one. Do we not need one. What I really wanted this second time around, was a Bugaboo. A Bee, to be precise. The perfect city stroller. But we already had two strollers. We had a navy blue Peg Perego travel system, and a blue/brown Maclaren Quest. Both strollers I really liked, who had their purposes. I loved the Peg when I first got it, but it proved very cumbersome, difficult to maneuver onto public transport, and too wide and bulky. The Maclaren solved the problem of public transport, but it could only be used from six months.

So we needed another stroller. I thought long and hard about a Phil and Ted’s. It looked like (and still seems to me) to be a great double stroller. Because it’s a double decker, it’s not too wide or too long. I remember accosting a lady in the park in California, asking her what she thought of her P&T.

The trouble was, I wanted a Bugaboo Bee. But there didn’t seem to be a good reason to get one. Either we got a double stroller, or I just used the Peg. I was trying to figure out how much  we’d really need a double stroller. Son would be just over two when you were born, so not quite walking everywhere.

In the end, I got the Bugaboo. A lady on the forum was selling her barely used Bugaboo, still under warranty, for just over half the price. I decided we didn’t really need a double stroller. We spent the summer before you were born getting your brother used to the buggy board. I figured a) we wouldn’t often be going out of our village or straying far from our neighborhood, b) on the rare occasion when I might need to bring both kids into Paris, I would just not go alone, and c) for the first several months if we were going far, I could put you in the Ergo and push your brother in the Maclaren.

I sometimes shudder to think that I almost didn’t get the Bugaboo. It is a dream of a stroller. It is the Rolls Royce of prams. It drives like an absolute dream. It has worked out so well for us. I attached the buggy board for your brother, and as it pushes one-handed, I can walk beside him while pushing. It was a much better decision than getting a double stroller. I have also bought several accessories secondhand from people, such as the newborn cocoon, the footmuff for winter, and the sunshade, so I am pleased at having gotten such a good deal.

I have also noticed another unforeseen thing, which is that it was good to get a new stroller for you, because your brother is very attached to his Maclaren, and thinks of it as his stroller. So getting a new one meant he never had any doubts that this was for you to be pushed in, and he never complained about the buggy board.

Although your brother now very rarely needs the Maclaren or the board, I can’t say that I have any regrets in our stroller-purchasing history. I don’t regret the Peg at all. We still use the car seat that came with it, and as well, you slept in the nacelle till five months, next to my bed, just like your brother did. Ironically, I prefer travelling with the Peg, which is counter-intuitive as the Maclaren is touted as a good travel stroller. The reason I prefer the Peg is because a) it is sturdier than the Quest so you can actually hang baggage off the handles, something you can’t do with the Quest or Bee, b) it has the built-in buggy board step so I don’t have to travel with our board, and c) it has the snap-in car seat (though you are pretty much outgrown that now). I also like having a stroller that I don’t mind if it gets beaten up in the airplane hold, and I’m not terribly worried it will be stolen (knock on wood) as it wouldn’t have a great resale value. I won’t take the Bugaboo to the pool, for example, or to Disneyland, for fear of it being nicked. The Maclaren of course still has the same benefit as ever of being lightweight and narrow, so it’s still our choice when going into Paris.

The Bugaboo is a case of, it’s such a thing of beauty that it simply makes me feel happy to push it. It’s beautiful and such a delight to take out. I actually am not looking forward to the day when you won’t want to be in a stroller anymore. Pushing you around in it when you were a newborn probably helped stave off some post-partum depression, as shallow as that sounds. It’s just a reminder, sometimes you just have to listen deep down to what it is you want. It was definitely the right decision.

So there you have it, that was our stroller experience.

P.S. You are 14 months old, taking steps but not yet convinced that walking is an efficient way of getting around. You are driving us all crazy, the ladies at the creche and halte-garderie included, with climbing on everything. Everyone says you have no fear. You dove into a piscine des balles at the garderie with your eyes covered. You climb on the couch and jump around on it. You like to say “bada-pa-dop-a-doppa. You also say “ba-dah” for “banana”. I think we can consider that this was your first word. You dislike shoes except for your little Ugg booties, which are the only ones you will keep on your feet all day. You love broccoli and peas, but aren’t crazy about green beans. You are still the sweetest, easiest little baby girl.

Leave a Reply

