Walking the talk, talking the walk

Hi munchkin,

You’ve taken to talking the past month. This is what you say?

-There’s “allo” whenever someone picks up a phone

-“Ba ba” (bye bye), usually accompanied by waving, usually said as we are walking out the door, but also sometimes said in greeting too.

-“Thsssszzzzzzzzzzie”. This means “doggie”. You often point to where the dog sleeps and say “Thsssszzzzzzzzzzie?”. You also say it when we see a dog in the park.

-“Book”. You say book when I’m reading you Goodnight Moon, if I’m reading a book, or if you come across one of your books on the floor. You enjoy pointing at the words and pictures. You also enjoy pointing out pretty ladies.

-“Buh” has two meanings: 1) This tastes good, I want more (normally this is “Mmm, buh”), or it means you want something to drink. Boire?

On a few occasions, you have demonstrated extremely polite manners. In Germany one evening, you were in the bath and I handed you a cup to play with, and you said “Tank yu”. Just like that. On another occasion at the breakfast table, I showed you the sippy cup, asking if you’d like to drink, and you said “Peez”. You said it a few minutes later too. Also, I was offering you some bread, you refused, a minute later I offered again and you said “Ok” and took it. Your grosseuncle heard this and can verify it. So funny and cute son! It’s fascinating because I can’t get you to say these things, you haven’t said them since, it’s as though it’s subconscious, like something you have heard somewhere. I hope this means you will be a polite person.

In other news, last week, a week shy of fifteen months, you took your first unassisted step, from the couch to the coffee table. You had a piece of bread in one hand and the stereo remote in the other, so you pretty much had no choice. I was so proud, son! It’s funny though because I always thought that once children took a step they were off and running, but you haven’t really taken another one since then. I think it’s still going to be a while before you are actually really walking. In Germany you started pushing the stroller, which is very useful to me because it means I don’t have to constantly leave you in the stroller, but at the same time you often break into a crawl as it’s just easier for you. Well, to be honest I’m not looking forward to having to run after you, so take your time walking son, take your time…

Leave a Reply

