On a sidenote

Ok son,

i’m sure you are going to be like, why are you telling me this, but I just feel like telling someone so I’ll tell you. Ok?

You may have often heard about the forgetting hormones, the ones which make you forget about the excruciating pain of labor, and I’m here to tell you that those puppies work wonders. I’m actually more talking about the pregnancy though, although I can vouch for the fact that it seems so surreal to me to think that I squeezed a 3 kilo baby out from “down there”. Seriously, it seems so surreal I think because under any other circumstances, if something weighing 3 kilos plowed through a part of your body, wouldn’t that mean severe debilitation, loss of limb, loss of life maybe even?

And yet here I sit, and my body and everything down there feels exactly the same as it ever did. I think that’s what it is. The fact that I feel completely like I did before, and so coupled with the forgetting hormones, it’s almost hard to believe that I could have experienced that physically taxing event called labor and birth, when everything is now as it was. Kind of amazing, if you think about it.

It’s the same with pregnancy. When I look down at my stomach, yes it’s a bit more flabby  than before, but it is incomprehensible to me that I, me, could possibly have carried around a baby in there. I remember that I used to set my hands on my belly and found it a convenient place to put them. I remember feeling you kicking around in there, a reassurance, during a dragging and difficult teaching lesson, for example. I remember even SEEING my belly move, during  your hiccups episodes, for example. And when I look down at my belly, probably a foot or so away from my face, it’s so hard for me to imagine that I actually had that experience. That you were mere centimeters away from my heart. You were right there.

That Mother Nature sure does work wonders.

Leave a Reply

