Babies of 2009

Dear sociable son,

last thursday we attended our first expat Babies of 2009 playgroup. I dressed up in a skirt and necklace for the occasion, not the most practical thing to wear for a baby playgroup, but for the moment I can’t bear the thought of turning into a khaki-wearing, makeup-less mother, at least not a full-time one. There were three other adorable babies there. One baby was there who was ironically born two days after you in the British Hospital, meaning we were there at the same time, and whose mama is australian and was in the same preparation class as I was back in May. It was lovely to be in the company of other babies and I hope you will make some little baby friends there. I think that is so important. It’s something I think about a lot.

Because, as we were leaving the playgroup, a friend sent a text asking if we wanted to meet for a drink, and so we met at a cafe for tea on the way home. The thing is that I still really prefer the company of friends who don’t have babies, to friends who have babies. I don’t know why but I feel like I can speak more honestly with them about life with you. Maybe it’s because I don’t feel they will judge me. Mamas can be a competitive bunch, I have learned, and I have a feeling I am no exception. Everyone has their way of doing things, and mamas want so much to feel they are doing the best for their children, that there is a tendancy to look down on people who are not doing the same thing as them. It’s very strange but that seems to be how it is. It’s not a part of this whole experience that I am looking forward to for the next decade, but it will be worth it, I feel…

Leave a Reply

