Masser

dear son,

Today we did a baby massage workshop at Le Poussette Cafe. What I learned was interesting. It wasn’t necessarily any massage techniques that I learned, those were pretty basic, but what I learned was how to touch you. I realize that since your birth, since you are so small, I’ve been handling you very delicately, almost fearfully. I wasn’t calm when we arrived, due to it being another scorcher of a day and being covered in sweat, and five minutes late, and so for the first half of the workshop, you weren’t calm either. During the second half, I gently stroked your legs and arms, and you had a dreamy look on your face.

Lesson number one: If I’m not calm, you pick up on it.

Lesson number two: You respond well to slow, gentle, but confident touch.

Important lessons, I think.

Leave a Reply

